image100

Read Trip Advisor Reviews

Read Trip Advisor Reviews

Sanjaya on safari at Kaudulla National Park.

See what people are saying about Sanjaya Tours Sri Lanka

Sanjaya Somarathna is one of the most engaging tour guides we have ever had. We spent a week with him from 1 - 8 July 2019 and enjoyed every moment. He is an expert at negotiating difficult traffic conditions and we felt completely safe at all times. Sanjaya has a deep understanding of the history and culture of Sri Lanka and took us to places we did not know about, or would not have had access to:
Where part of Bridge Over the River Kwai was filmed (Kitulgala), the exclusive Hill Top Club (Nuwara Eliya), the Tea Factory Hotel (Kandapola), the Baby Elephant Transit Station (Udawalawe), and the old town (Colombo). Sanjaya’s interest in wildlife and keen eye make him the perfect partner for bird watching and exotic species spotting including the elusive leopard. He is multilingual and his English is impeccable. Passionate to make the tourist experience enjoyable, he will go out of his way to satisfy every request, Sanjaya is a delightful travel companion and made our trip to Sri Lanka truly memorable.

Stephen, Australia, July 2019


My husband and I were in Sri Lanka in April for about 3 weeks and we had the pleasure of having Sanjaya as our driver/guide for about 2 weeks.
Sanjaya is fantastic. He is knowledgeable, friendly, funny, kind and can see things from a mile away.
Sri Lanka has so much to offer from beautiful lush scenery to history and culture, national parks and wildlife and beaches. The food is delicious and the people are very friendly.

Diana, Australia, April 2019


I would highly recommend Sri Lanka as a holiday destination and without hesitation highly recommend Sanjaya.We had a wonderful 3 day trip from Kandy to Polonnaruwa with Sanjaya who is incredibly reliable, knowledgeable and warm. We had a great time traveling with him as he is very accommodating and knew where all the great places are! I only wish we had had more time with him in the other parts of the country we visited earlier on in our trip. 10 stars!!!!

Jessica, USA, January, 2019


It's been a couple of months now since we've returned from our trip, however due to time constraints, I am only now able to write a detailed review, that will do our trip, and Sanjaya justice. Sanjaya has been the most wonderful guide we could've wished for. Prior to our trip, we researched the web, and found only a handful of guides with good reviews. Sanjaya at the time, had only about 12 reviews on Tripadvisor, but all were 5*. So with this high rating, although a small pool of reviews, we tried our luck, on short notice. The gods were smiling on us, and a few weeks later we arrived in Colombo, with Sanjaya waiting at the airport, with a big smile, and flower necklaces. He drove my husband, and I, in a clean, and comfortable sedan car. From here on forward right to the day he dropped us back at the airport, he made every effort to accommodate us. Nothing was ever too much trouble for him. His intuitive nature, quickly understanding our tastes, his wonderful sense of humour, ability to spot interesting things, and fantastic knowledge of his country, history, and its wildlife, made for a truly memorable holiday in Sri Lanka

Paddovoet, United Arab Emirates, December, 2018



 We had a 10 days trip together with Sanjaya where we travelled through Sri Lanka. We had such a good time together with Sanjaya; he was friendly, funny, knowledgeable and reliable. We always felt safe and comfortable with Sanjaya during the whole trip! We are so glad that we got to experience wonderful Sri Lanka with a driver and guide like him:) We would highly recommend Sanjaya to everyone!! Be sure to book in advance as he is very popular!

Anett, Norway, December, 2018


12 days travelling all the way around Sri Lanka with Sanjaya, we did everything on our list and so much more. Sanjaya knows everybody and everything, he was able to get us tickets last minute to the Kandy festival , most people book a yr in advance. He took us to villages where we met the local people, I got to cook traditional curries with locals without booking cooking classes. He knew when to arrive at the tourist attractions to beat the crowds. We had the most amazing experience at the national parks , 100s of elephants and the elusive leopard came so close ! Sanjaya is the best guide you could hope for but book in advance. Thanks so much Sanjaya! 

Sherry, Australia, August 2018


Can’t recommend Sanjaya highly enough. He escorted us (family of four, two teenagers) in his van around the best of Sri Lanka for a week. We were warmly welcomed at the airport and taken to Galle, Kandy, Sigiria, Habarana and back to the airport via Colombo. Sanjaya will guide you as much or as little as you need - he found us an excellent safari, came with us up Sigiriya rock, took us through the rainforest (with a guide), around the temples, and persevered through the traffic everywhere safely and with good humour. Very reliable and on time always with a massive smile. Thanks for a great week! :)

Suzy, UK, August 2018


We have not long returned from Sri Lanka and we had the best time, made better by Sanjaya. He was friendly, funny and knowledgeable not to mention honest and reliable, never late and always smiling.

We had our own itinerary and he made sure we didn`t miss a thing and Sanjaya was with us every step of the way. His car was clean and tidy and he was impeccably turned out too. We even made it onto the famous train ride because he went above and beyond when we were let down with tickets. He has plenty of contacts for safaris and he makes you feel very comfortable.

We would not hesitate to recommend Sanjaya if you are looking for a driver and when we return we will make sure it`s Sanjaya that takes us around again. Thank you for a great holiday!!

Lisa, UK, July 2018


As friends we travelled for 2 weeks around Sri Lanka with Sanjaya. Because of Sanjaya we had a wonderful trip. He was punctual, knowledgeable, pleasant and always concerned that all our needs were being met. His driving was excellent. We felt safe and had lots of fun with him. No request was ever a problem and we happily recommend his services to any fellow travellers.

Anne and Raelene, Australia, March 2018


March 2018 we went on a holiday trip of three weeks to Sri Lanka. As always totally unprepared. The only difference, this time we booked a guide that was suggested by a friend. After two days in Colombo Sanjaya picked us up at our hotel and we started our tour. Never a dull moment, making an itinerary on the go. Sanjaya managed to suprise us with new things to see, eat or drink for 12 days. His knowledge of the countries heritage and wildlife is like no other. He always had good suggestions for places to stay and eat. Finally he found us a nice small resort at Bentota where we could relax for a week before our flight home. "Sanji", see you next year.  

Edwin & Henny, The Netherlands, March 2018


Sanjaya is not a driver/guide he is a new friend who wants to show you his beautiful country. I spent 2 days with Sanjaya visiting places my trip with friends missed. I learnt more about Sri Lanka in those 2 days then I did the week before. As a female travelling alone I always felt not only safe but protected with Sanjaya. He accompanied me up Sigiriya as my guide but also helped me along the way. He ensured we got a good jeep for the safari. Lunch at a local restaurant was one of the highlights of my trip. We walked in and I did not know what any of the foods were. Sanjaya patiently explained it all to me and then tried to teach me to eat like a local. I highly recommend Sanjaya. He is a lovely man.

Nicole, Australia, February 2018


Sanjaya made our long weekend in Sri Lanka a wonderful experience. From the moment he met us at our hotel in Negombo until he left us at the airport for our departure from Colombo back to Singapore, he took excellent care of us as his guests! Sanjaya impressed us with his warm personality, his kindness and lovely smile and his knowledge about this beautiful country; whether it was history, nature religion or culture, he could answer - or he would do anything to find out. He was very polite, he was always on time and was a very good driver. We felt safe and secure in his car at all times! He did his outmost to make our trip truly unforgettable with many excellent suggestions to what we should experience during such a short time! Sri Lanka is a very beautiful country with its wonder of nature, its fantastic scenery, and its wonderful animals and bird life. We will definitely return for a longer vacation next time! We can fully recommend Sanjaya as your guide and driver in Sri Lanka.  

Cecilie and Kristian, Singapore, February 2018


From the moment we met Sanjaya at Colombo airport, we knew we had made the right choice - he was all smiles and politeness. He was dressed smartly and had an infectious personality which made us feel at ease straight away.   We hired Sanjaya for 10 days from Colombo to Anuradhapura, Sigiriya, Kandy and back to Colombo. His car was comfortable, clean and kept cool with great air conditioning. He was a safe and knowledgable driver, always providing us with anecdotes, historical facts and more than a few jokes along the way.   Both Sanjaya and Sue (who deals with his email responses) helped to tailor the perfect holiday and provide recommendations for where to visit and provided great restaurant recommendations too. He never pressurised us into visiting places we wouldn't be keen on and let us take the tour at our own pace. He was always surprising us with fruits he would source on the longer routes around the country too. Simply put - Sanjaya was the best decision of our holiday and I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending him to others. His polite and funny nature will have you instantly at ease and over the 10 days we spent with him, we came to view him as a friend!

Laura, UK, January 2018


Having never done longer than a 4 hour European flight before, Sri Lanka was a delight to experience. My son found Sanjaya via Trip Advisor and had lots of communication finalising an itinerary which worked. Arriving at the airport on a hot afternoon we were greeted with a lovely smily chap and immediately put at ease. As soon as we loaded the cases into Sanjaya's car, we were given bottles of water, air con turned on and a 4-5 hour journey commenced. From then on every moment spent with Sanjaya was like being with your best friend. Although he has taken many guests on tours he never tires of retelling stories of the history of Sri Lanka. He also loves all forms of the natural world - animals, plants, trees, birds and it's a delight to learn from him.His enthusiasm is unwavering. Many Sri Lankans speak English to some extent, however touring with a Sri Lankan national ensures there is no breakdown in communication at locations or when in restaurants. Whilst touring the country I had a special birthday. Sanjaya knew this and was determined to mark the occasion in some way. Who else can say they've eaten a personalized birthday cake, with candles in the middle of an elephant safari! He had even rung ahead to make sure the safari jeep driver bought a knife on the trip. It's those special touches way above being a tour guide that makes Sanjaya a very special person. If you use Sanjaya you definitely won't be disappointed, then take a look around at other tour guides whilst you are touring and you'll know you've got the best. Thank you Sanjaya, you ensured I had a birthday and holiday to treasure forever.

Rosie, UK, January 2018


Initially I was sceptical about the idea of hiring a driver, believing we could complete our 4-stop Sri Lanka journey ad-hoc and on the fly. I dropped an email to Sanjaya via his lovely website and was soon greeted with a pleasant response from his English-speaking trip coordinator, Sue. A bit of back and forth later and we had struck up a beautiful, tailored itinerary which included our driver (and all his needs) for a more than reasonable daily fee.   We chose Sanjaya due to his good reviews, pleaseant website and fantastic social media pages. He looks like a fun and friendly, modern guy - and he is - and more!! Our 10 days with Sanjaya were absolutely fantastic and we gained SO SO much more from our experience of Sri Lanka having him by our side. He is friendly, funny, polite (such a gentleman), respectful, helpful, knowledgeable... Just everything you could want in a driver. His driving is safe and his car is modern and comfortable (he even stopped to clean it several times along the way in his own time). Nothing was ever too much for Sanjaya and he was at our call whenever we requested. As well as the long haul journeys from Colombo - Anuradhapura - Sigiriya - Kandy - Colombo, Sanjaya also took us on a day trip to Nuwara Eliya and assisted with his knowledgable guidance at all of our historical stops (and climbing assistance!). Sanjaya introduced us to food, fruits, drinks, stories, history and all kinds of Sri Lankan delights that we otherwise would have missed. Furthermore, Sanjaya arranged our Safaris at great prices and came along with his safari hat and binoculars to help us spot the birds and wildlife along the way.  Sanjaya made our stay an absolute delight and it wouldn't have been the same without him. We started the vacation with a driver but left with a new friend. I highly encourage you to check out Sanjaya's website and social media pages. Get him booked in for your Sri Lanka voyage - you won't regret it.  

Carl, UK, January 2018


My Mother Brother and I travelled to Sri Lanka in December last year. Sanjaya came highly recommended by friends of ours and they were absolutely right! Sanjaya made our trip to Sri Lanka a memorable and wonderful experience. We were three people with different interests and varied age groups. Sanjaya understood exactly what each of us were looking for and took us to beautiful places. His knowledge and care made each day special. His skills as a birdwatcher enhanced each road journey. It is rare to find someone who is so sensitive both to the places of his home country and with the people he interacts with, who come from all over the world. We hope to return to Sri Lanka and travel with Sanjaya again soon.

Vasumuku, India, December 2017


My husband and I visited Sri Lanka in September 2017 with our two daughters, aged 2 and 4. We had planned to do and see as much as we possibly could, given that we were travelling with two children internationally for the first time. Sanjaya met us at the airport with a huge welcoming smile, and made us feel at home immediately. Over the course of our vacation, we learnt so much about the history of the country, the culture, food habits, flora and fauna, all from our wonderful driver and guide, Sanjaya! He was a treasure chest of information, happy to share with us all that he knew, and at the same time, sensitive enough to give us our space and allow us to absorb the beauty of Sri Lanka at our own pace.  Sanjaya was incredibly warm and courteous and hit it off with our girls early on in our trip (his son is about their age). We would like to believe that we all became friends through the course of our vacation, so much so that Sanjaya went out of his way to extend his hospitality and invited us to his home for the best home-cooked Sri Lankan meal ever! We got to meet his entire family, and it really was a highlight of our trip!  Sanjaya was also incredibly flexible with our schedule, we felt like he understood that timings sometimes go a bit awry when one is travelling with children. He was always punctual and his car was always clean and tidy, and he ensured that our vacation was stress-free, which was wonderful!  We visited local restaurants, national parks, tea estates, beaches, the elephant orphanage, and even a turtle hatchery, which was a big hit with the kids. Sanjaya was enterprising, always cheerful and courteous. It most certainly helps to travel with someone who speaks the native language (Sinhalese).  We were in Sri Lanka for 12 days, and they went by too fast! We would most certainly be visiting again, hopefully in the near future, and will make sure we plan our dates with Sanjaya so he can take us on another adventure.

Shiwan and Umang, India, September 2017


Thanks to Sanjaya, our big group of eight had the best 6 days trip ever in Sri Lanka in Dec 2017. We were visiting Nawara Eliya, Ella, Udawala, Yala and Mirissa. Sanjaya knew so much, and if he couldnt answer, he tried to find it out. He was so service minded and had full focus of pleasing us as clients. Both adults and kids were so happy with the trip and the good friendship that we got. Thanks for a memorable time together!

Ingela, Norway, December 2017


Sanjaya met us at the airport and put us at ease straight away with his friendly smile. Our 15 days in Sri Lanka in March 2017 were made special because of Sanjaya's professional manner, personality, his knowledge of cultural sites and wildlife and his enthusiasm for his country and its people. Sanjaya was a wonderful Chauffeur - Guide. He was punctual and his car was always clean and well maintained. He knew the best roads to travel on and he was a very safe driver. Sanjaya was very caring about our welfare (we are old enough to be his parents), respectful and kind. Our wildlife encounters on safaris were more than we had hoped for. We saw leopards, sloth bears and large herds of elephants. The extensive birdlife was amazing. We would like other travellers to this beautiful country to enjoy the services that Sanjaya Tours Sri Lanka can offer and experience a very memorable holiday as we have. We are very happy to add our high recommendation to Sanjaya's growing number of testimonials.

Sue and Ted, Australia, March 2017


You were excellent guide with a lot of knowledge about Sri Lanka (i had many additional questions and you were without a problem able to answer them to me). You were accurate every morning, when we set the time to travel further. Me and my friend felt comfortable with you and felt safe in your car. You are very kind, polite and it was a pleasure discovering Sri Lanka with you!  Keep up the good work and all the best.

Ines, Slovenia


We were able to spend with sanjaya 4 days in his beautiful country. Every day with him was a gift. Sanjaya, nothing is too much and he tries to make even the impossible possible. always friendly and helpful... we can recommend him 100%. 

Irene and Karin, Germany


We were fortunate to have Sanjaya as our guide on a 10 day trip in beautiful Sri Lanka. He's an incredibly nice guy. He did his utmost to ensure that we would get the perfect holiday we wanted, and we highly recommend his services.

Gry and Kristian, Norway


In September 2014, we have 10 days in Sri Lanka. A road trip. We were from the first moment received by very friendly Sanjaya at the airport. For 10 days he drove us from destination to destination. Full of passion, he told us about Sri Lanka and about all the sights. He is honest, reliable friendly, has a sense of humor, and nothing is too crazy for him! We had a great time. All in all, Sanjaya is a very good guide that is definitely recommended if you are going to Sri Lanka.

Marijke V Els, The Netherlands


We travelled with Sanjaya in December, 2016. He is a lovely, friendly and knowledgable person. He offers personalised tours and trips and airport transfers. If you want to get the most out of your travel in Sri Lanka you should book with him. We highly recommend him to everyone!

Andrea, UK


Es war eine unglaublich tolle Reise! Während unserem zwei-tägigen Ausflug hat uns Sanjaya beeindruckende Orte und Sehenswürdigkeiten gezeigt. Sri Lanka ist aufregendes Land. Durch Sanjaya haben wir das Land von einer ganz anderen Seite kennengelernt. Keine überfüllte Gruppenreise kann da mithalten! Nochmal danke für die tolle Zeit. Du hast unsere Reise zu einem unglaublichen Erlebnis gemacht.


It was an incredibly great trip! During our two-day trip, sanjaya has shown us impressive places and sights. Sri Lanka is an exciting country. By Sanjaya we have met the country from a very different side. No crowded group trip can keep up! Thanks again for the great time. You've made our journey an incredible experience.

Lara, Germany